[Resolved] Style for custom widget

Home Forums Support [Resolved] Style for custom widget

Home Forums Support Style for custom widget

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Jeroen

Hi there,

I wanted to customize my website with an extra section for recent posts or an email form but the available widget areas were limited. So I’ve used a hook (in elements) to paste a widget shortcode in the right place (I’ve used the plugin “wordpress widgets” for this).
    The problem is, this new widget doesn’t show up in appearance > customize. I guess I could apply some css classes and some code in the hook element to tweak fonts, sizes, background, width… but I’m not a programmer so the best I could do would be creatively cutting and pasting code which could easily lead to problems. Is there a way to include the new widget in the customizer? Or another easy way around this?

Thank you very much for your ideas,
    Jeroen

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

unfortunately each widget or plugin shortcode would require its own specific code to ‘style it’ – so no simple way to add customizer controls for them.

What elements are you having difficulty with ?

Jeroen

Thank you David.

I’m trying to set the width for the widget content to max. 1200px and change the background color.

Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support

Try something like this:

#wpsp_widget-5 {
        max-width: 1200px;
        margin: auto;
        background-color: #000000;
    }
    Jeroen

Thanks! I’ve added this to style.css as I assume that is where it needs to go, but I can’t seem to find the right code to “call” for this.
    I’ve tried things like

or class=”wpsp_widget-5″ before the widget shortcode, but it seems I can’t get it right. I think I need to do some css training ๐Ÿ™‚ but if you can help me out with this one it’ll be very appreciated!
    David
    Staff
    Customer Support