[Support request] “Migrating” to Flexbox Grid and the fresh 3.0 styling

Home Forums Support [Support request] “Migrating” to Flexbox Grid and the fresh 3.0 styling

Home Forums Support “Migrating” to Flexbox Grid and the fresh 3.0 styling

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Patrik

Hi,

I’ve updated my WP website from 2.x to 3.0.2/1.12.2. The release blog post https://generatepress.com/generatepress-3-0-a-new-era/ says that there’s a “Fresh New Look” but obviously my website stayed on the old one for compatibility reasons. However: Say I wish to update to that new look. How do I do that?

Second, about “Flexbox Grid”, I understand from the guide that my website stayed on the “floats” version because of compatibility reasons. The same blog post says “You can change your existing sites to use the flexbox version, but we suggest doing so on a staging site so any issues can be addressed before taking the change live.”. How do I do that?

I am not a web developer, just a user of this template for a simple website.

It would be really great if there was a “migration guide”. Sorry if there is one but I haven’t found one.
    I am probably not the only one that runs an existing GP 2.x website but wants to upgrade/update/migrate all possible functionality to the new stuff (without having to start from scratch with a new 3.x website).

Thanks a lot!

Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

Any chance you can link us to the site in question?

You can use the private information field.

There is also a guide here if you want to take a look:
    https://docs.generatepress.com/article/switching-from-floats-to-flexbox/

Let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

Patrik

Hi Leo,

Thanks a lot. I’ll reply privately within this message.
    Btw: If you leave this main text box in the forum empty, only write text into the “Private information” box, and then hit “Submit”, the forum says:
    >>ERROR: Your reply cannot be empty.