[Support request] Trouble with Smart Slider displaying on my site

Home Forums Support [Support request] Trouble with Smart Slider displaying on my site

Home Forums Support Trouble with Smart Slider displaying on my site

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Amanda

Hi there!

I am a photographer who’s trying to create a site similar to this: and today I made a Smart Slider that I’d like to use as the primary navigation for my site (slides with buttons that would redirect to particular photo galleries) and I am not sure how to go about getting it to format properly or if this is even feasible with my current tools.

Since my website was barely developed to begin with, I decided to clear everything off to start from scratch and now I think I may have an issue with my header being too large (upon inspection it’s 942 x 628 px) and I just went through the steps to merge it and I don’t think I did it correctly. Before I cleared my site, the slider was only showing up on a random page and wasn’t filling up the entire screen as I had specified and it also had a white box that wouldn’t go away behind it, I believe belonging to the home page post section and now it won’t show up at all, even after I try adding it as a header widget. I have been working on this for hours and need some guidance! Thank you so much in advance!

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there.

instead of adding the Slider to the Header Widget. Add the sliders shortcode to a Hook Element:

https://docs.generatepress.com/article/hooks-element-overview/

TLDR:
    1. Go to Appearance > GeneratePress and enable Elements.
    2. Appearance > Elements –> New > Hook.
    3. Add your shortcode to the text field.
    4. Select the before_header hook
    5. Check execute Shortcodes
    6. Go to Display Rules tab and set its locations eg. Entire Site.

Amanda