[Resolved] Newbie Question(s)

Home Forums Support [Resolved] Newbie Question(s)

Home Forums Support Newbie Question(s)

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Jeff

I’m new to WordPress (but not blogging) and have been mostly frustrated with customization options. I bought a GeneratePress license because among a dozen or so themes I tried, it was closest to what I wanted and the premium version promised that customizing further was part of the package.

Working with the stock GeneratePress templates, I can’t figure out whether the sort of customization I want to do requires more skills and patience than I have, or if I’m just not looking in the right places. Basically, I want to change (slightly) how each post is presented.

For example: Every related-posts plugin I’ve found outputs to the area between the post itself and the meta block. I want to move one of those elements (related posts->lower or meta block->higher), but I can’t find an easy way to do that.

Another example: On posts, I’d like to add some meta information (category) before the post — maybe above the title, maybe as part of the meta block that already precedes the post. Again, I can’t find an easy way to do that.

Am I missing something?

I’m not asking for specific solutions to those examples. I simply want to know my options for accomplishing these things.

1) Is there away to accomplish this sort of thing in Appearance->Customize? It seems like there should be some place that treats the post template the same way WP treats the sidebars — that is, composed of blocks that can be arranged, added to, and subtracted from however one pleases.

2) If not, is there some intuitive way to do this for somebody who doesn’t know php? I really don’t (yet) understand how page-builders work in relation to an existing theme, but could I accomplish what I want through something such as Elementor?