[Resolved] How to Style Archive Pages?

Home Forums Support [Resolved] How to Style Archive Pages?

Home Forums Support How to Style Archive Pages?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Andres

Hello,

A WordPress novice here looking for information on how to style category pages (sorry, I don’t know if this is the correct term). I found a few articles in GP forums, but they did not lead to a definitive answer.

We are developing a new site with Genereatepress Pro without a page builder. We don’t want to use a page builder as they pretty much turn your site into a slow-loading dog. Our current site uses GP Pro + Elementor Pro. The developer who did the site created Elementor templates for the styling.

We have a few categories page on our site whose sole purpose is to query posts. They are very basic with just an H1, a brief introductory paragraph, and a grid layout for the posts query that shows the featured image, title and description of each post with pagination

We do have one category that is more complex. It’s still a post query, but unlike thee aforementioned one, it queries the featured image from posts and the posts titles appear as a text overlays on the photos. I’ve provided URLs for both types of category pages.

I found a page (https://premium.wpmudev.org/blog/cool-wordpress-category-pages/) while searching for a solution that explained how to make Category pages using the plugin “Category Editor” by installing a WYSIWYG editor. After installing the plugin, the WYSIWYG editor did appear on category pages. However, the text I put in the Description field did not appear when viewing the category page (Categories –> Category in Questions –> View) and instead appeared in the Description area where the categories are listed (Posts –> Categories).