[Resolved] Child Theme – create a new one or use an existing one?

Home Forums Support [Resolved] Child Theme – create a new one or use an existing one?

Home Forums Support Child Theme – create a new one or use an existing one?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Giangerolamo

Hi All,

I am quite new to WordPress and I need some reassurance.
    I have installed the Pro version of Generate Press. I currently have a website in beta and I installed a copy of it in a subdomain to use as a sandbox to do some experiments in a controlled, non-live environment.

It seems like that for some of the changes to the UI I have in mind it is better to create a child theme.

As I see there are some GP child themes available – like Exhibit and Mantle – I assume that installing and modifying one of them can generate the same result as creating one myself without the hassle. Am I correct in my assumption?

The rationale for using a child theme is that I am not sure if the customisation I a planning to do will be erased by a future update of GP. According to multiple sources, doing them in a child theme would solve this potential problem.

PS
    Congratulation to the team for creating maybe the cleanest and neatest theme available.

Jamal

Hi

The theme developer has provided a starter child theme if you dont want to create your own https://docs.generatepress.com/article/using-child-theme/#installing-a-child-theme

Any changes made to those other GP child theme like Exhibit will be overwritten to the best of my knowledge. More informed persons will give a difinitive answer but in the meantime you can safely use the child theme in the link above.

Giangerolamo

Hi Jamal,

This is already a very good answer that nails the point precisely on the head. Thank you for that.
    I will try and give my feedback on the result while I wait for more answers.

Best

Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support