[Resolved] Child Theme – create a new one or use an existing one?

Home Forums Support Child Theme – create a new one or use an existing one?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Giangerolamo

Hi All,

I am quite new to WordPress and I need some reassurance.
    I have installed the Pro version of Generate Press. I currently have a website in beta and I installed a copy of it in a subdomain to use as a sandbox to do some experiments in a controlled, non-live environment.

It seems like that for some of the changes to the UI I have in mind it is better to create a child theme.

As I see there are some GP child themes available – like Exhibit and Mantle – I assume that installing and modifying one of them can generate the same result as creating one myself without the hassle. Am I correct in my assumption?

The rationale for using a child theme is that I am not sure if the customisation I a planning to do will be erased by a future update of GP. According to multiple sources, doing them in a child theme would solve this potential problem.

PS
    Congratulation to the team for creating maybe the cleanest and neatest theme available.

Jamal

Hi

The theme developer has provided a starter child theme if you dont want to create your own https://docs.generatepress.com/article/using-child-theme/#installing-a-child-theme

Any changes made to those other GP child theme like Exhibit will be overwritten to the best of my knowledge. More informed persons will give a difinitive answer but in the meantime you can safely use the child theme in the link above.

Agressively support the kind of work you want to see. Buy it. Talk about it. Review it.

Giangerolamo

Hi Jamal,

This is already a very good answer that nails the point precisely on the head. Thank you for that.
    I will try and give my feedback on the result while I wait for more answers.

Best

Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support