[Resolved] Setting Global Colours and Typography

Home Forums Support [Resolved] Setting Global Colours and Typography

Home Forums Support Setting Global Colours and Typography

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Barbara

Hello,
    I am a beginner with WordPress and GeneratePress.I have looked through your support materials and still find it difficult to get started as everything you have is very specific. I really need a big picture guide (I have seen this asked by others). So here goes, trying to adopt specific questions.

I am using GeneratePress Theme and GenerateBlocks. I am not using one of the specific themes; I tried that and ended up very confused. I have also installed the child theme as, ultimately, I need to build several websites. I want to add my brand colours and typography. I main the customize colours and I note that the first 3 colours are contrast 1,2,3 and Then Base 1,2, 3 and then Accent. It says if I change the names it will change the template. Is a definition of what these names relate to? I mean how and where are the colours applied?

Sorry for the basic questions, I have a long journey ahead. Barbara

Fernando
    Customer Support

Hi Barbara,

The default Global Colors are applied to different places in your site. The Global Color can be used in the customizer, GB settings, custom code, etc. By default, they are used only in the customizer unless you’ve used them elsewhere. Personally, I would advice creating a new Global Color, and applying that to different sections in your site through Appearance > Customize > Colors.

You can use Appearance > Customize > Typography for typography settings you wish to apply globally in your site.

Barbara

Hi Fernando,

I have setup global colours in the customiser. My question is, I have left the default names eg contrast-2, should I change these?
    BR, Barbara

Fernando
    Customer Support

You mean change the variable name? You can leave it as is, and then create new ones.