Site logo

Archived topic

Reusable Blocks Request Saving

3 replies · Started by Tony on March 1, 2023

Viewing posts 1–4 of 4

Hello,
I'm not 100% positive this is an issue for this forum but it only became an issue on my site since the most recent GenerateBlocks update last week.

Whenever I use a reusable block on an article (which is almost every post I make), when I go to publish the post I'm asked to save changes to those blocks. At first I thought I had just forgotten to convert the block into regular blocks but that has not been the case.

Ultimately, it's not a big deal to just uncheck the option to save but it's only a matter of time before one of my blocks gets accidentally altered and unchecking leads to an "unsaved changes" warning when exiting the article which could lead to actual unsaved data not being saved.

Just thought I'd give a heads up and see if anyone else has experienced this issue over the last week.

Hi Tony,

I just tested, if all the reusable blocks have been converted to regular blocks when you try to save the page/post, then you can tick the reusable block to save, the changes will not apply to the reusable block.

Is there a plan to fix whatever is causing this? While it may not be a big deal as long as I convert the blocks, it does make the warning prompts on my site completely unreliable since they pop up regardless of there being an actually relevant warning or not. Plus, it's just a matter of time before someone forgets to convert a block, ignores the warning, and accidentally saves the content. It's a real Chicken Little situation.

Hi Tony,

Sometimes block attributes change in the background (especially after a big update). If the re-usable block is asking you to save, then you can go ahead and do so. It shouldn't ask you again until you make a change to it (or another big update happens).

This archived topic is closed to new replies.