[Resolved] Meta in Customizer

Home Forums Support [Resolved] Meta in Customizer

Home Forums Support Meta in Customizer

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    93487u5tr938ouh4trnos8fyoh

Hi,

One of your competitors would release a new version of their framework and I was thinking it is a very good idea to have the metadata edit with templates in Customizer.

Here is how it looks – https://i.ibb.co/3fb7j5s/Entry-Meta-Customizer-1.png

I am not a coder, I can’t handle all these easily with the documentation that I see.

I think it will benefit and widen the audience and bring customers.

Just an idea for your next version.

Kind Regards

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer

Hi there,

Have you looked into our Hook Element?: https://docs.generatepress.com/article/hooks-element-overview/

That way you can add anything into the after_entry_title hook, and use the Display Rules to display it wherever you like.

It’s actually much more powerful than that example.

Let me know 🙂

This does require coding. It would be significantly more user friendly to add the options inside Customizer like Astra and Genesis Themes. Not all people are coders. Small mom and pop shop – would be able to figure out the settings in Astra & Genesis, not by coding. There one one theme before called Thesis, it died exactly because of this – the developer was thinking that every user of the theme is developer, coder or geek.

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer

The screenshot you shared looks like it has a couple of textareas which you can add your content into (including shortcodes). The Hook Element is identical, it just allows you to place it wherever you like (including the meta area). The need to code is identical in both scenarios (both are textareas, both accept shortcodes).

I suppose we don’t have those shortcodes by default (post author, date, etc..), but we’re happy to help with those if needed.