[Support request] Lost custom code with update.

Home Forums Support [Support request] Lost custom code with update.

Home Forums Support Lost custom code with update.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Sami

Hello, and sorry for bothering you guys, the issue i am having is totally my bad!
    I had a developer to write some custom code for me as i am new to building websites. The custom code was added to the parent theme and as the theme was updated all the custom code was wiped off.

I have since done some searching and understand that custom code should be added to the child theme.
    I was smart enough to create a back up of the code and i am pretty sure i know where all the custom code is.

I tried to create js, css and php files and i think everything else worked out except the functions file that i added to the child seems to break the website if i add the custom code in the file manager.

If i add it to the appearance –> editor then it gives me this error.

Your PHP code changes were rolled back due to an error on line 138 of file wp-content/themes/generatepress/functions.php. Please fix and try saving again.

Cannot redeclare woocommerce_custom_template_loop_product_link_open() (previously declared in wp-content/themes/generatepress-child/functions.php:55)

Any advise is highly appreciated.

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer

What that error means is you’ve previously declared that exact same function name in your child theme.

Search for woocommerce_custom_template_loop_product_link_open within the editor, and make sure only one function exists with that name.

Let me know if you need more info ๐Ÿ™‚

Sami

Sorry, i don’t quite understand what i am supposed to do.

I used ctl + f and found 2 instances where woocommerce_custom_template_loop_product_link_open is used.

function woocommerce_custom_template_loop_product_link_open() {
    		global $product;