[Resolved] Homepage advice, please…

Home Forums Support [Resolved] Homepage advice, please…

Home Forums Support Homepage advice, please…

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    horizonblue

I would like to create a magazine-style site.

For its homepage, I’d like latest articles to appear in set areas (blocks?), according to their categories. So perhaps a category header and two or three latest articles for each category – perhaps the ability to feature an image for top article in each category too.

Also I might like to have larger featured articles at the top of HP – possibly in a carousel, though I’m open to suggestions. Any advice on best way to proceed would be very welcome.

Would I start by making a static homepage? How would I go abut incorporating these elements? I read something about GenerateBlocks – would you recommend?

As much step-by-step guidance as possible would be appreciated, as I’m a WP beginner.

Many thanks in advance.

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

i would recommend:

1. Use a Static page for your home page.
    2. The GenerateBlocks plugin will allow you to create ‘sections’ to your static page using the Container Block:

https://wordpress.org/plugins/generateblocks/

3. Use the WP Show Posts plugin to create different lists of posts.
    The free version should be fine, it will allow you to set a number of posts, filtered by category, and you can decide what elements of the post you want displayed ( Image, Title, Excerpt, Post Meta, Read More Button ). You can also choose the number of columns you want displayed.

https://wpshowposts.com

I would start there. And if need be we can look at the other things you may want to do 🙂

horizonblue

Hi David

I’ll give that a go and let you know how I get on.

Thanks! 🙂

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Please do 🙂

horizonblue

Hi David

I’m only just getting round to this, but have a couple of questions…