Archived topic
GP Premium update runs, then reverts back to previous version
14 replies · Started by Mark on January 11, 2022
My wp-admin says I have GP Premium v 2.0.3 and an update to v 2.1.1 is available.
I update from the Dashboard > Updates screen, and only update GP by itself if there are other updates pending.
It says "GP Premium updated successfully"
When I go to the Plugins screen, it shows v 2.0.3, and when I go back to the WP Updates screen, it shows I again have an update pending to go to v 2.1.1.
I went to the GeneratePress dashboard to check the license key. Next to Updates, it says "Receiving updates".
I saved the license key again to see if that would help, and ran the update again.
Same result. A few minutes later, the version has reverted and shows an update available.
I copied out the license key from my account, and pasted that in and saved it again. Did a forced browser refresh.
Tried the update. "GP Premium updated successfully".
Go to Plugins, it shows the old version 2.0.3.
I have a caching plugin, but I deactivated that long ago.
This has been going on for a few months now.
I'm stumped. What do you suggest?
Thanks
Hi Mark,
That sounds super strange - I haven't heard this issue from other users before.
Any chance you can create a staging site with all plugins disabled except GP Premium and let us take a look in the dashboard?
Thanks!
Hi, Leo
I'm sorry it took so long to get back to you.
We do not have a staging site. If I install the Health Check & Troubleshooting plugin, which allows disabling of plugins in wp-admin without affecting the live public site, would that work for you to take a look?
Thanks,
Mark
Hi there,
if you can provide a temporary admin login in the Private Information we can take a look to see whats going on.
Hi, David
I just updated the GeneratePress theme to v 3.1.1, and then tried to update GP Premium again. It said it was successfully updated, but after doing a refresh, it had reverted back to showing v 2.0.3 again.
I created a temp login link for you, and added it in the private info section. It is valid for 3 days. Let me know if you need more time.
Just to confirm, this issue only occurs for the GP Premium plugin?
Any chance you can start a staging site so we can disable all plugins except GP Premium to test?
We've not heard of this issue before so some further debugging tests are required.
Thanks!
Hi, Leo
Yes, this is only occurring with the GP Premium plugin.
I could set up a staging site, but it would take some time.
Meanwhile, I did install the "Health Check & Troubleshooting" plugin. This allows you to deactivate any or all plugins for troubleshooting from within wp-admin without affecting the live site.
I've used this on another site, and it seems to do what it claims to.
If you use the link I gave you to access our wp-admin, if you go to Plugins > GP Premium and click on Troubleshoot, it will deactivate all the other plugins, and allow you to re-enable them one-by-one to look for conflicts.
Is that worth a try, at least for now?
- Mark
If you use the link I gave you to access our wp-admin, if you go to Plugins > GP Premium and click on Troubleshoot, it will deactivate all the other plugins, and allow you to re-enable them one-by-one to look for conflicts.
We can't actually make changes your site like this for you especially if it's a live site with traffic.
Any chance we can wait for the staging site to be set up?
You can always update manually if you want to use the most recent version right away:
https://docs.generatepress.com/article/updating-gp-premium/#manually-updating
Just to say, I just installed this plugin on this site this morning, as I don't have a staging site for this website, as you asked about.
So I did not do any troubleshooting using it before contacting you.
I contacted support hoping you might have an idea of what was going on, before going through all that.
- Mark
I understand. I'll take a look at doing a manual update, and if that doesn't correct it, I'll go on to setting up a staging site, and get back in touch.
Thanks,
Mark
Manually update should absolutely work.
But I'm still interested to see what's causing the issue with the auto-updates - never heard this one before :)
Will manually updating using a fresh copy of GP Premium overwrite the current version, or do I need to deactivate and/or uninstall the current version I have?
- Mark
Will manually updating using a fresh copy of GP Premium overwrite the current versio
Yes - just follow the 2 steps here:
https://docs.generatepress.com/article/updating-gp-premium/#manually-updating
That seems to have worked - I'm showing v 2.1.1 now for GP Premium. I did a forced refresh of by browser, and it did not revert again.
Hopefully it will stick, and this won't happen again, but just in case I will go ahead and set up a staging site on general principles.
Thanks for your advice and patience! I'll mark this as resolved.
No problem :)