[Resolved] Flyout menu link to external website doesn't close after clicking on menu item

Home Forums Support Flyout menu link to external website doesn't close after clicking on menu item

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Richard

I’m still pretty new at setting up a WordPress website and am struggling to get my dropdown menus working smoothly. The problem I’m having occurs in menu items which are custom links to external sites. It does not occur if the menu item is a page on my website. I’ve seen that the dropdown/flyout menu does close/retract if I have Max Mega Menu activated and click on a custom link menu item, but that plug-in has far more complexity than I want or need to master. Using GeneratePress, is there code that I can include which will enable those dropdown menus to automatically close upon clicking on the menu item rather than staying open on the last flyout until I click elsewhere? Alternatively, would the problem be eliminated if I upgraded to version 2.0.2?

GP Premium 1.6.2
    Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

What version are you using currently?

It’s always good to update regardless if it solves this problem or not.

Your site is also under maintenance page so I can’t actually see the problem.

Any chance you can disable it so I can see?

Richard

Hi Leo,

I’ve temporarily disabled the coming soon page, so you can see the problem. You can see it happening when selecting an item under “Links”. The item should open the external site in a new tab. When you go back to my website, you should see the still open flyout menu.

I’ve also noticed that in the Edge browser, not only does the flyout menu fail to close after clicking on an item; it also blinks on and off until one clicks elsewhere.

I’m using version 1.6.2 of GeneratePress, with the current updates. What would version 2.0.2 offer by way of additional features?

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer