[Support request] First post displays twice

Home Forums Support [Support request] First post displays twice

Home Forums Support First post displays twice

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Ryan

Hello!

I am new to WordPress and also Generate Press (bit of a learning curve here).

I downloaded the Volume theme and made my first post today. So my blog only has one post but it displays two times on the homepage. Also, very strangely, each one looks different! The first has the post title and excerpt BELOW the image, while the second has the post title above and excerpt below. The second also has the author name, which I don’t want.

I went through all the settings and I can’t figure this out. Any suggestions much appreciated!

Ryan

Ying
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi Ryan,

Any chance you can link us to the site in question?

If you only have 1 post, there should be only showing 1 post on home page.

You can use the private information field.
    https://docs.generatepress.com/article/using-the-premium-support-forum/#private-information

Let me know πŸ™‚

Ryan

Thank you, Ying. I am placing the URL in the customer support area.

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

did you have a different site installed before you installed Volume?

Ryan

Hi David,

No, it is a brand new site.

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Very odd – the Volume site adds 2 x Block Element – Content Templates:

https://docs.generatepress.com/article/block-element-content-template/

Both are found in Appearance > Elements titled:

1. Post Archive Template
    2. β€” First Post Template

Quick Edit the second one and set its Status to draft.

Whats odd is that – First post template is completely different to the one on loading on your site, so i am not sure what happened there!

Ryan