Site logo

Archived topic

Deleted directory

3 replies · Started by Hans on August 15, 2016

Viewing posts 1–4 of 4

I have the feeling that the update this morning a directory was deleted which I had created in the theme directory. It was present before I updated, but it was absent after update.

May I suggest that the update does not delete any directory created by a user.

Hi Hans,

I'm afraid that's not possible - WordPress updates work by deleting the directory and uploading the new version.

You'll want to use a child theme if you'll be adding any files to the theme.

Let me know if you need more info :)

Hi Tom,

okay, understood. I moved the additional directory to uploads. It contains background images.

Hans

It will be safe there as well :)

This archived topic is closed to new replies.