Archived topic
Customizer data is lost when website url changes
1 reply · Started by Rae on February 17, 2018
Whenever I deploy my site from staging to live, or live to staging, key parts of my site are wiped out, like which menu is the primary menu, my site logo and site icon are gone, and the copyright text in the footer reverts to saying GeneratePress.
Literally the only thing I'm changing during this process is an IP address in the database... everything else is the same, yet the data is lost when the URL changes. How do I prevent this from happening?
Those specific options use something in WP called "theme_mods". If the theme changes at all (theme name, switch to child theme), they will revert to their default.
Is anything about the theme info changing when you do this switch?