Cyber Week Sale! Get $20 off GP Premium, $40 off our new Lifetime license, and 45% off license renewals/extensions! Learn more

[Resolved] Comments using Sections

Home Forums Support Comments using Sections

• This topic has 14 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by David.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Phil

I am a noob, so this is probably a dumb question.
    How can I add a comments form when I have a post set up using “sections”? I like formating with this feature, but the sidebar widgets and comments do not show up.

Thanks,
    Phil

GeneratePress 1.3.46
    Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi Phil,

Unfortunately comments aren’t activated in Sections. See Tom’s explanation here: https://generatepress.com/forums/topic/showing-comments-with-sections-add-on/

You could activate sidebar though: https://docs.generatepress.com/article/allow-sidebars-sections/

Let me know if this helps.

Phil

Thank you, Leo! I hope that Tom can find a way to make this work in the future. This is a slight setback, nonetheless GP is an awesome theme.

Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support

I’ll make sure he sees the request 🙂

Glad you are enjoying GP!

Phil

Okay, so here is what I did to make it work….

I used the Code Snippets plugin to add a shortcode for the comments form, as described in this post on wpsites.net.

I then added the shortcode to a new section on the page. I’m not sure if it makes a difference, but I placed the shortcode in a div element. I mainly did this so that I can add CSS styles, if I want to.

Here is the finished product, if you want to see. https://ipninja.info/netmon/network-monitoring-solutions/

Thanks,
    Phil

Phil

One more thing…

Just using the “comments_form” function does not provide all of the functionality, so I used “comments_template” instead. Works great!

Thanks,
    Phil

Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support

Awesome job! Thanks for sharing! I’m sure other users will find it helpful 🙂