Archived topic
Changing a page to use sections
4 replies · Started by Faye on January 5, 2017
Hi all,
Quick question for you. I have an about page, it has a lot of text on.
I want to use sections, so I slide the slider, but the text all disappears.
When I turn the slider off the text comes back. I haven't saved my changes - where will the existing text go when I save? Will it be lost?
Do I therefore have to copy all the text over into a new section?
I was thinking what if a client did this - would they potentially lose all the info on a page if they saved it? (or the reverse - lose all the text in the sections?)
Thank you!
Hi Faye,
Good question.
If you start with Sections OFF and then decide to turn it ON, you would need to copy the texts into new section(s) as GP does not know how you want to split them. You could still see your original text by turning it OFF **BEFORE** you click save.
If you start with Sections ON and have existing contents in several sections, when you turn Sections OFF, the contents will be combined and save over to the original textbox. However you won't lose the any contents if you decide to turn it back ON.
Little hard to explain so let me know if this makes sense. You can also create a test page to try it out :)
Also make sure that your add-ons are up to date - 1.2.92!
Brilliant - that makes sense. Thank you.
Will check for updates...!
You're welcome :)