[Resolved] Background image questions

Home Forums Support [Resolved] Background image questions

Home Forums Support Background image questions

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Warwick

Please forgive the probably very simple questions – but I am a complete novice with using wp and generate press.

I am busy building a site and have two questions relating to background images:

1. I added a background image to the home page and see it carries across to every page – is there a way to change page by page? In some instances I would probably not want a background image at all?

2. I have set the image to fixed so that I get a scrolling effect. This works fine on the laptop. When I go to the customize tab on wp and click on the mobile icon it does the same. However, when trying to actually view the site on a mobile the image does not scroll at all. Can you advise what this may be?

The site is: http://www.safariinstyle.com

Thanks for any help.

Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

1. You can use Tom’s Simple CSS plugin: https://docs.generatepress.com/article/adding-css/#simple-css
    It gives you a CSS metabox in the Edit Page screen of each page. Then you would add this CSS:

.separate-containers .inside-article {
        background-image: background-image: url('URL TO THE IMAGE');
    }

2. Not quite sure about this one. I’ll ask Tom to have a look πŸ™‚

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer

Mobile devices typically don’t do the fixed background image effect, as it can look pretty bad/laggy on mobile devices.

Warwick

Thanks for the responses.

Tom – in that case is it possible to set the background image differently for mobile? As it is currently I really like the effect for the laptop/desktop, but the image is stuck in the wrong position to be any use on mobile without scrolling?

Or possibly I should just stick with a plain background and take baby steps πŸ™‚

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer