[Support request] Woo Commerce Customisation

Home Forums Support Woo Commerce Customisation

• This topic has 7 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by David.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Rob

Hi,

I am looking for some guidance on the best approach for developing a Woo Commerce website using Generatepress. I have attached a screenshot of a potential single product page – as you can see it is a very different layout to the standard WooCommerce product page. The Highlights and Route Map sections will need to be custom fields – I was planning on using ACF to create these but am unsure on how to add them to WooCommerce pages. I would also need to manipulate the positioning of the standard Woo Commerce fields as you can see that the product description is in two columns etc. I have zero experience of WooCommerce so wonder if you are able to offer any advise on the best way to create such custom layouts.

Would I need to create a unique template or could this be done by using Generatepress Elements using Hooks do you think? Or is there a way of combining GenerateBlocks with shortcodes for ACF to create such a layout?

The key factor is the client will be adding products/events on an ongoing basis so I want to develop the website with that in mind. I appreciate that you won’t be able to give me all the details but at this stage I am looking to ensure that I take the correct approach from the outset.

Thanks

Rob

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

as that differs so significantly from the default templates – I personally i would look at custom development of a woocommerce template. This would include the specific custom fields as well as ‘rejigging’ the HTML for thay layout. Word of caution: Woo can get complicated, and Woo gets updated quite often so custom work requires maintenance.

The alternative is to take advantage of Hooks.