[Resolved] Will my customizations be eliminated when I update to 2.3.2?

Home Forums Support [Resolved] Will my customizations be eliminated when I update to 2.3.2?

Home Forums Support Will my customizations be eliminated when I update to 2.3.2?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Roslyn

I have customized aspects of my site’s appearance, some of which has required additional css. Will this be lost when I updated to 2.3.2?

I see a note recommending creation of a child theme. I’ve begun following the instructions at https://developer.wordpress.org/themes/advanced-topics/child-themes/ in case this is needed, however, I am lost at Step 3, Enqueue stylesheet #. So am I wondering a.) Is this necessary? And if so, b.) how to do what is described here. (As you can tell, I am not a developer.)

Thank you!

Jim

GP has its own child theme. See this guide https://docs.generatepress.com/article/using-child-theme/ (NB: I don’t work for GP).

Roslyn

So you are saying then that I am 1.) already automatically working with a child theme in using GeneratePress?

And that therefore, 2.) when I add code to the “additional css” area in the Customizer, it will remain regardless of any updates to the theme?

And so I can just 3.) go ahead and accept the update without losing any of the changes I’ve made to the appearance of my website?

I just need to make sure I understand, as this is all quite new for me, so thank you for answering my 3 questions here!

Jim

1. No, you are not. The theme you download from WordPress.org is the parent theme. The link provided in the guide above gives you the child theme that you download as a zip file, upload to WordPress themes section and just activate it and follow the other instructions in the guide. Nevertheless, You do not need a child theme if you have not modified core PHP or CSS files that come with the theme.