how do I do this? Do i have to fear that migration is not supported over multiple versions?
Will I lose my settings?
Once before I had the issue when jumping over a version, that I could no longer reupload my experted settings.
Please guide me how I go safely from 1.6.2 to the current stable version.
there shouldn’t be any real issues jumping to a later version.
But as a precaution i would suggest creating a staging site and test the upgrade there first. If all is good then you can push that to the live site. You’re host should be able to help with creating the staging site.