[Resolved] navigation menus in mobile, best practice

Home Forums Support [Resolved] navigation menus in mobile, best practice

Home Forums Support navigation menus in mobile, best practice

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Dee Broughton

Tom –

I’m working on a design for a client, sandbox for it at http://goodwriting.guru/, and she hates the way there are two menus hotdogs on the mobile view since we have a secondary nav.

I can make everything on one menu of course, but is that the best solution?

If I only have 4 menu items or so, can’t I just keep it from making that little hotdog thing anyway?

Do you have any other tips for how to make this design more palatable both on big and small screens? I’m new to designing for mobile/responsive and sorta hate it. πŸ˜›

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer

Hi Dee,

One thing I’ve experienced with is in use when the navigation is in the sidebar.

When it’s down to mobile size, the script will move the menu below the header.

I’m not sure if this is the best way to handle it, but it seems to be working fine in that use.

Let me know if you’re interested in the code, and if so, which nav is going where?

Dee Broughton

I managed to moved it ok, but now I want to get rid of the word “Menu” and just leave the hotdog. I can’t find the word. Where/How an I remove it?

Dee Broughton

So, I’d still like to know where I can remove the word “MENU.” I can’t find it. But I’m wondering if it would work to turn the menu “button” on it’s side the way the Gifts button is on the right. Could I leave the hotdog oriented correctly, but turn the word 90 degrees clockwise? How? Would users like or hate that, do you think? Ugh, mobiles.

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer

You can remove “Menu” with a filter:

add_filter('generate_mobile_menu_label','generate_remove_menu_label');
    function generate_remove_menu_label()
    {
          return '';
    }