[Resolved] Multisite Strategies for Custom Layouts and Sections

Home Forums Support Multisite Strategies for Custom Layouts and Sections

• This topic has 5 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 1 month ago by Tom.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Michael

Hi Tom & Team,

I’m a web administrator for a 300+ WordPress multisite instance at a local university. We recently purchased GeneratePress and GenerateBlocks to use in this environment in an effort to compliment/replace the Genesis framework. One of the many challenges we have faced is to provide clients of varying technical skills the ability to develop child sites that represent their department, lab, service, etc at the university. In short, results are mixed. Perhaps one of the biggest challenges is consistency.

I’ve been experimenting with the Block – Hook Element on local multisite install as well as the GenerateBlocks Reusable and Patterns areas to see what’s possible. Basically I would like site admins of each child site to be able to place branded hero images, buttons, branded 2 & 3 column sections by just going to the Gutenberg area and adding them.

StudioPress just announced Genesis Blocks Pro that has 26-pre-built full-page layouts as well as 56 pre-built sections. I’d like to do the same thing with GeneratePress & GenerateBlocks. I’d like to create these layouts and sections and include them into the GeneratePress child theme we offer. Maybe its already possible and I’m just missing it.

I would appreciate your thoughts on strategies moving forward. It’s a balance between giving users too much structure where they feel restricted and the kitchen sink approach where they can create just about anything…and often do.

Thanks much!

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer

Hi Michael,