Site logo

Archived topic

Loading Mixed Content Warning

9 replies · Started by Oisin on May 6, 2020

Viewing posts 1–10 of 10

Hi Guys,

I'm dropping in here hoping that this is one of those things an experienced developer will figure out in a few seconds.

I recently moved hosts from SiteGround to Cloudways. Once migrated I set up a new SSL cert using Let's Encrypt. Then I used the plugin "Better Search and Replace" to find all http requests in my database and change them to https.

However, I am still seeing images listed as non-secure. They are all related to my header. I have the svg icons I use for social media and also the retina logos.

I thought I could manually delete them and then upload the images with different names and then choose these new images from the customizer. However, the deleted images are still showing even though they no longer exist. http://www.loadlabz.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/Load-Labz-Retina-.jpg is a good example.

I disabled Varnish and cleared all caches and then disabled my caching plugins. Why does the above request still remain? You can see it in my source code.

Any help much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Oisín.

Hi there,

That seems to be pointing at the site logo under site identity.

So it doesn't work if you remove it from the customizer and re-add the logo that was newly uploaded in the media library?

Hi Leo,

That's what I tried based on a previous fix suggested in here but for some reason the request remains?

Not sure what next steps I can take to get to the bottom of it.

Oisín.

Hi there,

Are your site URLs in "Settings > General" using https?

Hi Tom,

They are indeed.

That should make it so anything you upload (like the logo in the Customizer) uses https by default.

I would maybe check with your hosting to make sure http is redirecting to https correctly.

Cheers Tom,

I'll check with them now.

If it's not a server thing, there must be some sort of plugin/function on your site preventing the actual URL from being used. WordPress should always use those URLs in "Settings > General".

Cheers for your help. It turned out to be a server thing in the end. All good now.

Glad to hear :)

This archived topic is closed to new replies.