[Support request] Importing a New Site

Home Forums Support [Support request] Importing a New Site

Home Forums Support Importing a New Site

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Karen

Hi, I am completely new to GeneratePress and I am obviously not tech minded. But I am trying to load Wordsmith and get the message below before I import the content.

Does this mean I am ok to keep my pages, as long as the pages are empty of content? If it means my whole site has to be completely clean how does that impact on the URL links?

For best results, only install this demo content on fresh sites with no content. If you have already installed another GeneratePress Site, be sure to clean it up by deleting the content, plugins and menus that it added.

Thank you for your help

Karen

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

we recommend that you install a GP Site on a clean install of WordPress.
    Importing a GP Site to an already built website may lead to problems.

All of your existing content (pages, posts, media, plugins etc.) will remain intact. But…
    The Site will import dummy content pages, posts and elements ( as seen in the demo ).
    The Home page will be changed to that of the imported Site.
    It will change the Menu in your navigation to imported site Menu. Your old menu will still exist but may not be displayed if its location is the same as the imported Site.
    Likewise with Sidebars and Footers – the widget content may get updated. And in this case any existing widgets will be lost.
    Any layout changes the sites import could also effect your existing page content. Such as how sidebars are displayed.

Of course people still do import Sites on an pre-built website. If this was a requirement then the best option would be to test it on a backup or staging site, not your live one.

Karen

Hi David