[Support request] How to update an old GP website with new child theme

Home Forums Support [Support request] How to update an old GP website with new child theme

Home Forums Support How to update an old GP website with new child theme

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Rebecca Cousins

Hi! I hope this isn’t a stupid question but I am not tech savvy AT ALL! I created a website using GP back in 2015 through a lot of question asking and watching YouTube videos and then dropped that project and haven’t really looked at it in four years. I have basically forgot how to do everything pertaining to creating a WordPress site and a lot has changed with this theme since then.

I would like to update my website using one of the themes available from the library. I have purchased the premium version (which I had before) and updated my licencing key. Now I am not sure where to go from here. My website is currently built on a child theme of GP (back when there was only one option to use). Do I just download the files to wordpress and pick one of the themes from the library and change it? Like I said I am not tech savvy when it comes to websites and I am worried about losing a lot of info and messing up my website beyond repair.

Any help, guidance, step by step instructions or general hand holding is much appreciated 🙂 Thank you!

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

we don’t advise installing a Site Library Site on a pre-built website. The Site will import settings, plugins and content. It will not however replace or remove any existing content. But it will swap out logos, menus and widgets ( if applicable ). So you would have to do some repair work ie. removing demo content, and swapping back the elements mentioned above.

If you were to attempt then i would advise the following. Most importantly make a backup of your Site. You’re host should be able to assist with that or use one of the many WP backup plugins.