Archived topic
How to reference original theme template shortcode after modification
3 replies · Started by Brian on January 24, 2022
Hi All,
I bought a subscription for the Portfolio Theme, and I'm learning a lot from looking at how the designer created different grids and blocks. How can I keep the original pages of the template but make a copy and modify/delete items in the copy?
There were some blocks in the template I downloaded that I didn't want published, so I deleted them. But now I'm realizing I would like to be able to go back and reference them in case I want to do something similar later.
Thanks for any help you can offer,
Brian
Hi Brian,
I bought a subscription for the Portfolio Theme, and I’m learning a lot from looking at how the designer created different grids and blocks. How can I keep the original pages of the template but make a copy and modify/delete items in the copy?
duplicate the pages and save the duplicates as drafts so they don't get used/accessed from the front-end. As drafts, they basically serve as reference/block "banks" you can get blocks from.
There were some blocks in the template I downloaded that I didn’t want published, so I deleted them. But now I’m realizing I would like to be able to go back and reference them in case I want to do something similar later.
Default post type post and page should have revision history enabled by default.
You can use this revision history to go back to the state where the page/post still have the block you've deleted. But this would mean the recent changes you've made will be gone.
You can click this to access the revision history - https://share.getcloudapp.com/7KuqAgEg
To avoid losing the recent change, I suggest duplicating the page/post and then revert the old copy to the history state where it still had the block you've deleted.
Once you found the recovered block, try saving it as a reusable block. And then go to the page you want to put the recovered block and place the saved reusable code on it.
You then drag the recovered block OUTSIDE of the reusable block that holds it. Once you do this, save the page.
You can then delete the source page where you've made the reusable block. (note, it is important to copy the reusable block to another page first before deleting the page where you've created the reusable block a.k.a the source page. It's a WordPress issue)
Thanks Elvin. I downloaded the Duplicate Page plugin. I appreciate the comments about recovering a block and saving it as a reusable one. You guys/girls do a great job with your support!
Have a great day,
-BK
Thanks! We sincerely want to help out.
Let us know if you have further questions. No problem. :D