[Resolved] How to make parent page on nav bar non-linking?

Home Forums Support [Resolved] How to make parent page on nav bar non-linking?

Home Forums Support How to make parent page on nav bar non-linking?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Marla

Hi there,

Ok, so I’m a total newbie and have NO clue how to use css. I purchased GP Premium and have been using the add-ons to tweak my website. It works well enough but without css I cannot create precisely what I want. Nevertheless, I’ve managed to put together a basic website with GP!

Anyway, one of my MANY questions is:

How do I make a parent item on my navigation bar non-linking? I want the name of the parent page displayed on the nav-bar (e.g., Services Offered) but I want folks to use the sub-navigation pages (e.g., Service A, Service B…) to access information. Am I making sense?

I’ve scoured the support forum but many of the potential fixes for my problems is in css and so I’m kind stuck. Can I do this without css?

Thanks in advance!

Marla

Stacey Usborne
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi Marla,

This article might be helpful:
    https://generatepress.com/knowledgebase/using-menus/#create-drop-down-menu-custom

Let me know.

Marla

Hi Stacey,

Thanks for that link! I had checked menus out before but wasn’t sure what they were for…

So, I’ve watched the animation (how to create a parent page that does not link anywhere) about 20 times.
    I did exactly as it shows but it does not seem to be working – the parent page is still an active link.

Also, when I mouse-over parent menu on the nav-bar, it still shows an active url in the bottom left corner of my screen. πŸ™

What am I doing wrong? Ideas?

Thanks,
    Marla

Tom
    Lead Developer
    Lead Developer

Hi Marla,

Your best bet is to delete the current menu item in your menu which links to the active URL.

Now create the new parent item as a Custom Link with no URL.