[Resolved] How to change format of post archive

Home Forums Support [Resolved] How to change format of post archive

Home Forums Support How to change format of post archive

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    dkrgen

Hello, I have GeneratePress Pro but I’m new to creating archive pages for posts, also new to using Gutenberg and GenerateBlocks. Hoping there is an easy way to change how a blog archive looks. I did explore the Appearance -> Customize -> Layout -> Blog options, but not sure how to make it look the way I want.

As an example, when I click on a date range to see what posts were published during that time, the default layout seems to be a single column list of:
    – Post Title
    – Date by Author
    – Featured Image
    – Post Excerpt

I would rather have it laid out in 2 columns, with a featured image thumbnail in a 25% left column, and the following in a 75% right column:
    -Post Title Link
    -Excerpt

Is there an easy way to do this, whether it’s GenerateBlocks or something else?

I’m also using Toolset.com if you think it would be better to create a custom post type and customize the archive for that post type (although I did start to go down that road and found it to be fairly challenging).

Thanks for any advice!

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

Under Customizer > Layout > Blog you will find the se settings:

https://docs.generatepress.com/article/blog-content-layout/

Under there you will find settings for Achives & Posts where you can enable / disable the post meta you dont need.

and then the featured image settings

https://docs.generatepress.com/article/adjusting-the-featured-images/

To create that layout your Archive Featured Images should be:

Set Location to Above Title.
    Set Alignment Left
    Select Media Attachment one of your smaller sizes.

Let us know

dkrgen