[Support request] Hero Padding – Please Provide Better Explanation Documentation

Home Forums Support Hero Padding – Please Provide Better Explanation Documentation

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Sheila

I really love GeneratePress and plan to recommend it to all my clients. However, I am not a programmer and I’m struggling with the Hero element. I have read all the online documentation on creating Heros, but I think you need a better explanation for how to position the background image and the text on the page. I understand normal padding, but the padding on the hero element is odd. I don’t understand it.

I’m trying to create a full background image with some text, and a sign-up form (script) on top to create a nice-looking landing page. I have 20% bottom padding to show this size of a full-background image. I did this with trial and error…not because I understand it!

Please provide more documentation on Hero padding in the future…and how to position elements on top of a background image.

Thanks!

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

Header Elements, like any container with a background can be tricky especially when there is content inside the container. And in this instance there is no quick calculation that will eliminate any ‘tweaking’.

Vertical positioning basics:
    Top only padding aligns content to bottom of hero.
    Bottom only padding aligns content to top of hero.
    Equal Top and Bottom padding will center the content.

Background size: Full width hero with NO content.

Calculate the original background images aspect:
    Image Height / Image Width * 100.
    Example URL hero image: 628px / 1200px * 100 = 52%.

Now edit your heroes padding so the Top padding + Bottom padding = 52%.
    This sets the containers height to 52% of the browser viewport, and will always display the full image, no matter the screensize.

Background size: Full width WITH content.