Black Friday Sale! Get $20 off GP Premium, $40 off our new Lifetime license, and 45% off license renewals/extensions! Learn more

[Resolved] Header, background image, border, menu and chicken bones?

Home Forums Support Header, background image, border, menu and chicken bones?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Doug

🙂 OK, no need for the chicken bones I suppose.

Background: I am brand new at building websites but some 25+ years working with data. I am looking for a bit of guidance; perhaps along the line of “best practices” or “You knothead, don’t do that!”, preferably the first choice. I have looked through your prior support but didn’t see anything that was a match.

(Side note: Love your product and support (wow, nice! x2) and “got here” via Dave Foy’s videos (take a bow, Dave! Thank you for your videos – short & sweet)

Looking at the site you will see a huge yellow border. That is NOT a part of the design. Rather a bit of formatting to give me a clearer sense of my progress. It will go away, I promise. 🙂

So, here are the features I am looking for. If not possible I am OK with that though I expect you folks will have a solution;

1. Border around visible screen. It will be reduced. Long-term design thought ‘points’ to drafting vellum type layout – not on you guys.(Is this still called the viewport?)
    2. Nav menu always visible. This will, I think, become a simple company name, hamburger menu and site tag shortly but I wanted to get the basics working first.
    3. Footer also always visible. I suspect this will point to some sort of dynamically-resizable process? I have found a few javascript examples. Suggestions?
    4. A bit of animation. I should be able to figure that out at some point. Not critical at this moment and also learning Smart Slider 3 which I just got. I can see this will take a bit but it sure seems nice.
    5. Any other suggestions you may have

Thank you!

Doug

GeneratePress 2.0
    Leo
    Staff