[Support request] Gutenberg blocks and external links from gallery images……

Home Forums Support [Support request] Gutenberg blocks and external links from gallery images……

Home Forums Support Gutenberg blocks and external links from gallery images……

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Wendy Lee

Hello Generate Press…

I have been working on a website that is very image intensive – it’s an inofrmation based site with over 150 pages and humdreds of images, displayed under short paragraphs of text. I am only a quater of the way as I was a complete novice and this is the third time I am inputting content – starting with a very simple do it yourself, progressing to page builders and finally – thank goodness… I found Generate Press. It has helped me to learn so much.

The theory behind the structure I am using, is that a young person can read a short paragraph and then see images, and then by clicking on the images they are taken to external sites that inform them further about the topic and give refrence to the image itself. However, since gutenberg gallery blocks have arrived, the external image links no longer work in gallery – along with the fact that the image captions appear on top of the images…basically making the entire site and structure idea redundant….

I have researched a little and it seems there is no fix for this problem from gutenberg and the only solution at the moment is to install the classic editor plugin and revert back to classic editor… which I can do – again, but apparently this is only effective for another 2 years?

What to do? Because of the content load, I would really like to settle on a definate solution that will enable me to continue to load the content without having to go back and reload it all over again…

Do you by any chance have a solution for me?