[Resolved] CSS Grid Support in GeneratePress

Home Forums Support [Resolved] CSS Grid Support in GeneratePress

Home Forums Support CSS Grid Support in GeneratePress

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Alex

Hi there,
    I’m new to this framework. I think it’s a great framework that you’ve built. I’d like to use CSS Grid for laying out pages and such. I know I can override layout elements with my own. But I wanted to know if there are any plans to update the theme to use CSS Grid? And are you accepting PRs for this?

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

GeneratePress 3.0 is about to be released soon.
    Default installs of 3.0 will remove the legacy unsenantic grid and replace it with CSS Flexbox.

Flexbox for the themes layout is far simpler to setup within the Customizer ie. no additional controls to maintain legacy behaviour. It also have more stable support across all browsers.

Whereas CSS Grid is more ‘complex’ and would require an additional control scheme. Also Grid Gap is not fully supported on all legacy browsers.

Of course with the new flex version – replacing it with CSS Grid will also be far simpler as there are no utility classes in the HTML ( which unsemantic required ).

Alex

Oh neat. =)

Thanks for the reply. Is there a place to preview or test out the upcoming version?

Leo
    Staff
    Customer Support

Not yet – working out the last details before we release alpha testing 🙂

Jonathan

Any update on when CSS grid is going to be implemented within generatepress blocks?

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

we don’t have any firm plans on adding CSS Grid to GenerateBlocks ( or the theme ).
    It is something we are experimenting with, but the major hurdle is creating a UI that not only works but is actually understandable.

There are a couple of tools out there that assist with the CSS generation of a CSS Grid.
    This is one i like:

https://grid.layoutit.com