[Resolved] backend editing keeps front end styles and blocks don't work as expected

Home Forums Support [Resolved] backend editing keeps front end styles and blocks don't work as expected

Home Forums Support backend editing keeps front end styles and blocks don't work as expected

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Carol Jones

I have two issues with this site. I don’t think they are related, but I hope whatever fixes them is only one simple problem.

I have been using WP 5.4.1. I have 7 WP websites, 6 are using GP and , four are using GP and GP Premium with WP5.4.1. I have been using WordPress mostly successfully for about 8 years.

Scenario: When I go to edit a page or post, I always have gotten a screen/work area that is white and I am able to create new blocks. I can change the types of blocks and all is eventually well. When I set up this one a year ago, I used “Classic” blocks that I could work inside of using the classic editor with styling and other features in the editing tools that I was used to.

Problem 1: The background of the edit page screen is now colored the same as if I was using the preview feature, the H2 tags are styled like the real page and all the fonts are the same as the front end are. It is as if I’m working on the front end in some way when I’m not, and I don’t want to be.

Problem 2: The classic editing tools within the classic blocks disappear when I mouse over them so they are useless.

It seems like something is allowing me to use front end editing similar to a builder program which I do not have or use and don’t want to use. This is the only site that has this problem. Even a brand new site that I started building after this one behaves the way I expect in the backend and not like this one.