[Resolved] Advice on creating a custom post type

Home Forums Support Advice on creating a custom post type

• This topic has 13 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 4 months ago by Elvin.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Andrew

First a little back story. I’m not a developer but can build things within blocks. What I want to do is create a second “blog” within my site (not actually a blog but a post type with the same functionality but separate from the main blog with a different layout).

After much research it looks like the solution is to create a custom post type.

I installed the custom post type UI plugin. All good, created the post type and custom categories, no problem. Then hit a roadblock – how to create a page to display the new custom posts, similar to how the Blog page works.

Apparently there’s not an easy way to do this, hence I’m going to have to hire a developer to do this for me.

Now, I have mixed results with the freelancer market and find it helps to be very specific with my request.

Therefore, what is the recommended way to create CPTs and the corresponding page to display the list of CPTs?

I’m asking here as it needs to be in a way that interacts cleanly with the GP templates. I am moving my site to GP as it is super fast and I don’t want to remove those performance benefits with unnecessary plugin bloat.

I want to be clear with the freelancer on what I expect them to do and what approach they should take; potentially even referring them to this post.

David
    Staff
    Customer Support

Hi there,

how does the CPT differ from the standard single post ?
    Does it requite extra meta/custom fields or its own custom taxonomy ?

Andrew

The CPT can have the same appearance as the standard single post.

By taxonomy I assume you mean categories/tags? In which case, this will be specific to the CPT area.