[Resolved] Adding Local Fonts

Home Forums Support [Resolved] Adding Local Fonts

Home Forums Support Adding Local Fonts

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    John

After entering the topic title, there were suggested posts and an article that might help, but I’d already checked those out (and some others). I’m a recent GeneratePress Pro user and am experimenting to see how things work — I’d like to get the most out of this theme (and use it on all my WordPress websites). So…

This is my first experiment involving modifications rather than just using GP Pro out-of-the-box (clearly, I love it!). The experiment is to have a website use only local fonts (i.e. fonts on my hosting provider’s server for my account).

I followed the Adding Local Fonts article (I have it book marked) to the letter. I cannot get to use a font I have installed (I tried a couple). They do show up in Typography when I go into Customize, but setting one of them (I tried all of them) doesn’t work. I have double-checked (and triple-, quadruple-checked) the code, the file names, the font-family, etc., and it appears correct (to me!).

Using a style in a post (i.e. using the text editor to put in a span tag with font-family specified) also doesn’t work. So presumably the @font-family CSS isn’t working.

I have some questions, but would, of course, appreciate any assistance you can provide:

1. Why do I have to use a full URL in the @font-face CSS directive? Doing so makes testing using a different domain name (or sub-domain) tedious and introduces one more step that can go wrong when taking a website “live”? I’d much rather use a relative URL that did not depend on the domain name.
    2. Is there a problem using only a TTF (or OTF) version of a font?